Thank You Letter to CWGA Members - Priscilla Maxwell Endicott Virtual Golf Tournament

June 25, 2020

Dear CWGA Members,

On behalf of the PME Scholarship Committee, I want to extend my deepest appreciation to all of you who participated in this year’s first Priscilla Maxwell Endicott Virtual Golf Tournament. Congratulations and thanks go out to Michelle Murphy and Jean Sennett for a superb job!

Your generosity will help to play an important role in continuing to provide scholarships for young deserving women golfers from the state of Connecticut who are pursing higher education.

Priscilla Maxwell Endicott, an amateur golfer of national reknown in the 1920’s, initially endowed the Scholarship Fund to encourage junior girls’ involvement in golf. In 1997, the Patricia DeWees Creed/CWGA Scholarship Fund was established by C. Edwin Creed to honor Patricia. This year is the last year of the Creed funding. The endowed funds managed at the Greater New Haven Foundation and Vanguard, together with your $15.00 donation from CWGA annual dues, contributions from friends of women’s golf, club events, memorial donations – and this week’s tournament, continue to support this important initiative of women helping young women to achieve their life goals. (See Junior Tab on CWGA Website for more information regarding the history and process for applying for the PME Scholarships).

At the conclusion of this year’s virtual interview process held in May, PME Scholarships were awarded to 17 young women in the graduating Classes of 2021 – 2024 who will attend 12 different colleges including: Adelphi; Boston College; Holy Cross; William & Mary; Fairfield University; Gannon University; New York University; Quinnipiac; Notre Dame; UCONN; Sacred Heart University; Williams College. The scholarships are awarded for four consecutive years depending on successful completion of each academic year. Scholarships to be paid in 2020 total $35,900.

Once again, a very special thank you to all of you for helping to make a difference in these young women’s lives – and we hope to see you all again at next year’s PME Scholarship Golf Tournament!


Linda Kaye, Chairperson

PME Scholarship Committee: Lisa Fern-Boros, Secretary, Susan Grayson, Treasurer, Deb Boynton, Cindy Ahern, Barbara Ajello, Sara Papa, Ex Officio CWGA President

Contact us - Connecticut Women's Golf Association

Powered by Wild Apricot Membership Software