Log in

Endicott Cup

In 1926, the first Endicott Cup tournament was held at Hartford Golf Club (CT) as a 36-hole stroke play competition between members of the Connecticut and Massachusetts Women's Golf Associations. The Endicott Cup was presented by Priscilla Maxwell Endicott for the winner of the competition. The plan was that the first person to win the trophy three times would retire the cup. Edith Baker won the Cup in 1926 and 1928 and requested that the trophy be perpetual, with the winner keeping it in her possession for the year.

In 1929, Massachusetts (whose membership included Rhode Island) and Connecticut played the Kittredge Cup as the third day match play competition for the nine low gross players from each team. In 1930, Rhode Island joined as a third team and the Kittredge Cup was retired and replaced with the Tri-State Trophy.

Today, Endicott Cup competitors play 36-hole stroke play over two days. The seven low gross and seven low net players (plus an alternate from each state for the gross and net teams) compete in the Tri-State and Eaton Cup team matches on the third day of the event.

Players who have won at least three times since the start of competition:

  • Mrs. Frederick Davis (RI): 1932, 1935, 1936
  • Hunter Beard (MA): 1939, 1940, 1941
  • Patricia O'Sullivan (CT): 1948, 1949, 1950, 1951
  • Joanne Goodwin (MA): 1954, 1956, 1957, 1958, 1959, 1960
  • Lida Kinnicut (CT): 1976, 1979, 1980, 1988, 1993
  • Tara Joy Connelly (MA): 2006, 2009, 2010
  • Christine Gagner (MA): 2012, 2016, 2021

(info obtained from 2015 Tournament Player's Packet)

Contact us - Connecticut Women's Golf Association

Powered by Wild Apricot Membership Software